This article is for users who installed Fomo through the Shopify plugin.
Shopify users who've installed after March 17th, 2021 are no longer billed via usage fees.
Go here to learn about how to upgrade or downgrade your Fomo plans on Shopify.
Shopify handles all of billing for plugin users (ex. users who installed via the Shopify App Store).
Here are some common questions about how they handle app charges:
Billing cycles are post-dated
Shopify's billing cycle for Fomo charges is post-dated. This means that your Fomo app charges will hit on the following billing date.
See Shopify's full explanation of the billing cycle here.
If your Shopify bill comes on the 5th and your Fomo billing cycle ends on the 20th, you'll see Fomo usage charges for May 21st - June 20th on your July 5th Shopify bill.
This also means that if you cancel on June 10th, you'll still see Fomo on your July 5th bill for your May 21st - June 20th usage.
Note that Shopify bills for the full billing cycle month, regardless of when the user cancels within that month. In this way, our billing cycle is independent from the Shopify subscription billing cycle. Your Fomo plan charges should be billed at the same time as when your Shopify subscription is billed.
Your Shopify bill should provide the detail for which Fomo billing month is being charged.
"Usage Fees" = dynamic plan upgrades
Update: Users who install Fomo from the Shopify app marketplace after April 2021 select fixed pricing tiers (without usage-based pricing).
Fomo billing from the Shopify App Store is a bit different due to Shopify's app pricing options.
If you exceed the monthly notification limit on your current plan, you will see "usage charges" on your Shopify bill instead of the next tier plan's name. This is just how Shopify bills for usage-based apps.
Don't want usage-based billing? Use one of these options:
Enable limit protection. This is a way for users to limit notifications so they don't exceed their plan limits.
Register from our own site here where there is no dynamic billing - you are only billed for the plan you choose at signup. You can still change plans later.
Want to go with #2 but already installed via the Shopify store? We'll migrate you to our native app for free (ask us here).
If you have any questions, reach out at firstname.lastname@example.org.