Fomo notifies users who reach 90%, 100%, or 120% of their plan's monthly notification limit.

To ease the frustration, service is not paused until an account is 120% above its threshold.

What Happens when Accounts are Paused

Every calendar month on the first day, all plan limits are reset to zero and notifications automatically turn back on.

So, if a Fomo account is paused on the 15th of the month or the 30th of a month, it will be re-enabled on the following month's 1st day.

Data will continue to stream into your Events queue, and existing connections or integrations do not require any re-configuration.

Upgrading vs Downgrading

If you experience a high traffic month, perhaps from ads or press, or some other unusual traffic source, you may want to let Fomo reset on its own.

However, if your traffic is increasing for the long-term, it's a good idea to consider a new plan, which also comes with more features and benefits (premium support, more app instances, custom integrations, etc).

Note: Contact hello@fomo.com if you installed Fomo via Shopify, BigCommerce, Lightspeed or Ecwid -- these 3rd party apps handle our billing but we can help you with your upgrade/downgrade.

How to Upgrade

  1. Log into your account and visit Account (top right) > Plan.
  2. You'll see other available plans as well as the option to upgrade to annual for your current plan. 

If you want to upgrade to another plan's annual cycle, you will need to click to change to your desired plan first and then the annual upgrade option will immediately become visible. 

High-volume users can learn about more options here.

Downgrading / reducing your monthly volume

If a new plan doesn't make sense for your business, there are several ways to reduce overall notification volume and remain active in your current plan.

While logged into Fomo, visit Settings > Limits and enable "Max notifications per user session":

A user session is defined as the total time a persistent visitor spends on your website.

What's important to note about Fomo, is that we already do not show any notifications unless your visitor is actively looking at your website.

So, if someone visits your site in the morning, then leaves the 'tab open' in their browser until after lunch, no notifications will be shown in the background.

But, if someone spends 2 hours on your site, they may see as many notifications as 50 other visitors combined.

To calculate appropriate settings for your site, follow along below.

Another option is to enable Limit Protection, which you can learn more about here.

User sessions in Google Analytics

The following screenshot from Google Analytics is the result of opening the Acquisition tab (left side margin) > Overview.

Above we see a total of 2,144 user sessions in a 7 day timespan.

Each user spends an average of 1 minute and 55 seconds on this website.

This means that in a given month, this site has around 8,500 user sessions.

If a Fomo user is on the Hobby Plan (50,000 notification limit), they could set a "Max notifications per user session" limit of 5 or 6 notifications per 2 or 3 minutes.

This would comfortably accommodate around 42,500 notifications per 30 days, and leave room for up to 30% in free overage, or 55,250 total notifications, without risk of the account being paused.

Did this answer your question?